DiGRA 2020 Proceedings:

Please note that the DiGRA 2020 Proceedings (of peer-reviewed research articles, papers) will be published here: Managed by the Proceedings Chair Dale Leorke and a small team of student volunteers, the format-checking, author contacting and uploading process will keep progressing in coming weeks. Thank you for your support and patience.

DiGRA 2020: Cancellation Notice

With a heavy heart, we announce the cancellation of DiGRA 2020 conference, including all physical and remote activities. Please scroll down for further information regarding DiGRA 2020 submissions.

The key reason for the cancellation is the global Coronavirus epidemic and its consequences. The number of infections are still rising daily in several areas and as health officials introduce new travel bans and restrictions, we as organisers can no longer be certain who will be allowed to come into the conference or who will be available to organise it. While there are different forecasts, we cannot be certain that the epidemic would be over in June. There would be an increased risk of spreading the infection if a mix of international scholars are put into close contact for a week. Furthermore, there have now been virus infections detected on one of the Tampere University campuses already, which means that our venue has become a potential risk area in itself.

Further restrictive measures are now continuously taking place; on Wednesday, 11 March, Tampere University introduced a new restriction, advising against organising any event with over one hundred participants in the university premises.

In addition, there are multiple other concerns: flight companies are cancelling flights and there is a risk of attendants being put under quarantine in a foreign country in the event of a sudden restriction on all international travel. The number of people requesting remote presentation option is now also exploding from the few that we were initially expecting to support. We have come to the realisation that we do not have the capacity to implement all this as a complex hybrid conference, with both a few local and a large number of remote presentations and participants, with all the necessary tech support. Moreover, if any or several of the key organisers fall ill, it will be difficult to safeguard a conference that runs according to our shared expectations.

The Program Committee has employed EasyChair to send a message to all who have a conference paper, abstract, panel or Doctoral Consortium contribution accepted. Workshop chairs will be contacted by the Organising Committee.

Everyone who has registered to the conference so far will receive a full refund of the conference fee. The Tampere University registration system will be used to send communications about the refunds. Naturally, no new registrations will be accepted.

Both Gamesnetwork mailing list and the conference website will be used to provide updated information as it comes available.

Finally, this is obviously a very sad turn of events and was a hard decision to make. After planning and working towards this conference for several years (the original plan was made in 2016 already), we are simply devastated for having to cancel the event. But after looking at the evolving epidemic, it is now clear that this is the right thing to do. We ask for your understanding and collaboration. Unfortunately, there will be considerable financial consequences to local organisers in Tampere, but we’ll manage. It is the losses for every individual in the game studies community that matter the most. We want to thank all organisers, volunteers, reviewers, authors, and everyone else involved for their contributions and support at this point.

On behalf of the Organising Committee,

Frans Mäyrä, DiGRA 2020 Conference Chair

Regarding DiGRA 2020 Submissions
The message explaining next steps for accepted submissions has been sent from EasyChair official account. If you didn’t receive it, please check your Spam folder.
If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to reach us at

– Hanna, Sabine & Tomasz, Program Chairs